German Entrepreneurship Award
for Development

Is your company active in developing or emerging countries? In your company, you always make room for innovative ideas and solutions that contribute to improving the living conditions in these countries? Apply now for the German Entrepreneurship Award for Development until 1 November 2020 and present your project to the jury!

The Carl Duisberg Gesellschaft (CDG) awards the prize every two years. The next award will be presented in early 2021, most likey by Development Minister Gerd Müller. Time and place of the award ceremony are to be announced.

The prize is awarded in two different categories (Category A: “Business for Development”, Category B: “Innovation for Development”). For both categories, the prize is 30,000 euros. This money flows into the prize-winning projects and product ideas and thus provides additional impetus for the companies’ international activities. In 2021, companies are invited to apply for the award in category B, in particular, but not exclusively, if their project in a developing or emerging country helps to mitigate the consequences of the global corona virus crisis.

AWARD

The German Entrepreneurship Award for Development is conferred every two years on the initiative of the Carl-Duisberg-Gesellschaft e.V. (CDG) on behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The award honours the commitment of companies in developing and emerging countries that goes beyond the corporate objective and that benefits the local people. The award is given in two separate categories: Category A – “Business for Development” and Category B – “Innovation for Development”.

With their projects or innovative business models, the award-winning companies make a verified contribution to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The German Entrepreneurship Award for Development is intended to make this extraordinary commitment better known to the public. In 2019, the award ceremony took place in February in Accra, Ghana.

The CDG is a private sector initiative. Since 1949, it has supported the professional and personal development of specialists and managers focused on international development policy.

PRIZE MONEY

The Entrepreneurship Award comes with prize money of EUR 30,000 in both categories. The money flows into the prize-winning projects and product ideas, providing additional impetus for the companies’ international activities. The recipients commit to using the prize money for the dedicated purpose of continuing the company’s engagement for the benefit of the local population.

You can find further information in our award criteria.

WHO IS ENTITLED TO TAKE PART?

International companies with a project that matches our award criteria are eligible to apply for the German Entrepreneurship Award for Development. Associations, clubs, societies and private individuals are not eligible to take part in the competition.

HOW IS THE DECISION MADE?

After an independent expert has examined whether the applications conform with the funding principles, the five best projects are presented to the jury. The jury is made up of members of CDG plus representatives of the German business community, civil society, the media and politics, who choose the winning projects on the basis of the selection criteria set out in the funding principles.

PRICE CATEGORIES

The German Entrepreneurship Award for Development is conferred in two categories:

Category A – Business for Development  is intended for companies that are already operating successfully abroad and make a contribution towards improving local social or environmental conditions, over and above their entrepreneurial activity.

In 2019, HAWE Hydraulik won the German Entrepreneurship Award in category A. The winner of the Entrepreneurial Award in this category in 2017 was Zwick GmbH und Co. KG.

In Category B – Innovation for Development  the award recognises entrepreneurial ideas for innovative products or services that promote sustainable business practices and improve people’s lives over the long term. The award is primarily aimed at companies that have developed a product or service through to market readiness and would now like to put it to use. Poorer sections of society are the target group for the proposals.

In 2019, ecoligo GmbH was delighted to receive the German Entrepreneurship Award for Development in Category B. In 2017 GreenTec Capital was the recipient of the Entrepreneurship Award in this category.

THE AWARD WINNERS

The German Entrepreneurship Award for Development is awarded every two years.

Award Winners 2019

In Category A “Economy for Development”, HAWE Hydraulik SE on the German Entrepreneurship Award for Development 2019.

Companies on the shortlist of category A: El Puente GmbH, Kaffee-Kooperative.de, getINNOtized GmbH.

In category B “Innovation for Development”, ecoligo GmbH was awarded the German Entrepreneurship Award for Development 2019.

Companies on the shortlist of category B: e.Ray Europa GmbH, BIO-LUTIONS International AG, EPOS Health Management.

Award Winners 2017

The winner in Category A – Business for Development – was Zwick GmbH und Co. KG.

The other companies on the shortlist in this category were Bean Auction Limited, Messer Group GmbH, Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Seidentraum and TEEKANNE GmbH & Co. KG.

GreenTec Capital won the award in Category B – Innovation for Development.

In this category the other companies on the shortlist were Autarcon, Glow Efficiency, Lenox and Phaesun.

Jury

The winners of the German Entrepreneurship Award for Development will be chosen in a multi-stage process. First, an independent expert will examine whether the submitted applications match the award criteria. The best projects will then be presented to the Entrepreneurship Award Jury, which will select the winners in the two categories. The jury is made up of members of CDG plus representatives of the German business community, civil society, the media and politics, who choose the winning projects on the basis of the selection criteria set out in the funding principles.

Award Ceremonies

The German Entrepreneurship Award for Development is awarded every two years. The award ceremonies in 2017 and 2019 took place during the German African Business Summit in Nairobi (Kenya) and Accra (Ghana). They each represented one of the highlights of the three-day summit organized by the Sub-Saharan Africa Initiative of German Business. Since 2015, this summit is bringing together German and African decision-makers from business, society and politics. Time and place of the 2021 award ceremony will be announced shortly.

Deutscher Unternehmenspreis

für Entwicklung

Ihr Unternehmen engagiert sich in einem Entwicklungs- oder Schwellenland? Neben Ihrem Kerngeschäft ist auch immer Platz für innovative Ideen und Lösungen, mit denen Ihr Unternehmen zu einer Verbesserung der Lebensumstände in diesen Ländern beiträgt? Dann bewerben Sie sich mit Ihrem konkreten Projekt bis zum 1. November 2020 für den Deutschen Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung!

Die Carl Duisberg Gesellschaft e.V. (CDG) vergibt den Preis alle zwei Jahre. Anfang 2021 ist es wieder so weit.  Überreicht wird der Preis voraussichtlich durch Gerd Müller, Bundesminister für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung. Zeit und Ort der Preisverleihung werden noch bekanntgegeben.

Der Preis wird in zwei verschiedenen Kategorien verliehen (Kategorie A: Wirtschaft für Entwicklung, Kategorie B: Innovation für Entwicklung) und ist mit einem Preisgeld von je 30.000 Euro dotiert. Das Preisgeld fließt in die prämierten Projekte und Produktideen und setzt so zusätzliche Impulse für internationale Aktivitäten der Unternehmen. Im Jahr 2021 werden in Kategorie B insbesondere, jedoch nicht ausschließlich, Unternehmen zur Bewerbung eingeladen, die mit ihrem Projekt in einem Entwicklungs- oder Schwellenland die Folgen der Corona-Krise abfedern.

DER PREIS

Der Deutsche Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung wird alle zwei Jahre auf Initiative der Carl-Duisberg-Gesellschaft e.V. (CDG) im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) vergeben. Er zeichnet das Engagement von Unternehmen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern aus, das über das unternehmerische Ziel hinaus den Menschen vor Ort zugutekommt. Der Preis wird in den Kategorien A “Wirtschaft für Entwicklung” und B “Innovation für Entwicklung” verliehen.

Die prämierten Unternehmen leisten mit ihren Projekten oder innovativen Geschäftsmodellen nachweislich einen Beitrag zu den Nachhaltigkeitszielen (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen. Die Auszeichnung trägt diesem Engagement Rechnung und soll es in der Öffentlichkeit bekannter machen. Im Jahr 2019 fand die Preisverleihung  im Februar in Accra, Ghana statt – damals unter dem Namen Deutscher Unternehmerpreis für Entwicklung.

Die CDG ist eine Initiative der Privatwirtschaft. Seit 1949 unterstützt sie die fachliche und persönliche Entwicklung von Fach- und Führungskräften mit internationaler entwicklungspolitischer Ausrichtung.

Dotierung

Der Deutsche Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung ist seit 2020 mit einem Preisgeld von jeweils 30.000 Euro pro Kategorie dotiert, das in die prämierten Projekte und Produktideen fließt und so zusätzliche Impulse für internationale Aktivitäten der Unternehmen gibt. Die Preisträger verpflichten sich, das Preisgeld zweckgebunden für das weitere Engagement des Unternehmens zugunsten der Bevölkerung vor Ort einzusetzen.

Weitere Infos dazu finden Sie in unseren Fördergrundsätzen.

Teilnahmeberechtigte

Um den Deutschen Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung können sich deutsche und europäische Unternehmen mit einem Projekt bewerben, das den Fördergrundsätzen entspricht. Verbände, Vereine oder Privatpersonen können an dem Wettbewerb nicht teilnehmen.

Auswertung

Nachdem ein*e unabhängige*r Expert*in geprüft hat, ob die eingegangenen Bewerbungen den Fördergrundsätzen entsprechen, werden die bis zu fünf besten Projekte einer Jury vorgelegt. Diese besteht aus Mitgliedern der CDG sowie Vertreter*innen der deutschen Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, Medien und Politik, die anhand der in den Fördergrundsätzen festgelegten Auswahlkriterien die Gewinnerprojekte küren.

DIE PREISKATEGORIEN

Der Deutsche Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung wird in zwei Kategorien vergeben:

Die Kategorie A “Wirtschaft für Entwicklung” richtet sich an Firmen, die im Ausland bereits erfolgreich tätig sind und über ihre unternehmerische Tätigkeit hinaus auch zu einer Verbesserung der sozialen oder ökologischen Bedingungen vor Ort beitragen.

2019 gewann die HAWE Hydraulik SE den Deutschen Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung in Kategorie A. 2017 erhielt die  Zwick GmbH und Co. KG den Preis in dieser Kategorie.

In der Kategorie B „Innovation für Entwicklung“ werden unternehmerische Ideen für innovative Produkte oder Dienstleistungen prämiert, die nachhaltiges Wirtschaften fördern und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen langfristig verbessern. Der Preis richtet sich vor allem an Unternehmen, die eine Lösung bis zur Marktreife entwickelt haben und diese nun zum Einsatz bringen möchten. Die Vorschläge haben die ärmere Bevölkerung als Zielgruppe.

2019 freute sich die ecoligo GmbH über den Deutschen Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung in Kategorie B. 2017 wurde GreenTec Capital in dieser Kategorie ausgezeichnet.

DIE PREISTRÄGER

Der Deutsche Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung wird alle zwei Jahre vergeben.

Preisträger 2019

In der Kategorie A “Wirtschaft für Entwicklung” gewann die HAWE Hydraulik SE den Deutschen Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung 2019.

Unternehmen auf der Shortlist der Kategorie A: El Puente GmbH, Kaffee-Kooperative.de, getINNOtized GmbH.

In der Kategorie B “Innovation für Entwicklung” wurde die ecoligo GmbH mit dem Deutschen Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung 2019 ausgezeichnet. 

Unternehmen auf der Shortlist der Kategorie B: e. Ray Europa GmbH, BIO-LUTIONS International AG, EPOS Health Management.

Preisträger 2017

Preisträger 2017 in der Kategorie A “Wirtschaft für Entwicklung” ist die Zwick GmbH und Co. KG.

In dieser Kategorie standen folgende Unternehmen auf der Shortlist: Bean Auction Limited, Messer Group GmbH, Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Seidentraum, TEEKANNE GmbH & Co. KG.

In der Kategorie B “Innovation für Entwicklung” wurde 2017 GreenTec Capital ausgezeichnet.

Auf der Shortlist dieser Kategorie standen die Unternehmen Autarcon, Glow Efficiency, Lenox und Phaesun.

Die Jury

Die Auswahl der Preisträgerunternehmen des Deutschen Unternehmenspreises für Entwicklung erfolgt in mehreren Stufen. Ein*e unabhängige*r Expert*in prüft zunächst, ob die eingegangenen Bewerbungen den Fördergrundsätzen entsprechen. Daraufhin werden die besten Projekte der Jury vorgelegt und diese wählt die Gewinnerunternehmen in den zwei Kategorien. Die Jury besteht aus Mitgliedern der CDG sowie Vertreter*innen der deutschen Wirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, Medien und Politik, die anhand der in den Fördergrundsätzen festgelegten Auswahlkriterien die Gewinnerprojekte küren.

Preisverleihungen

Der Deutsche Unternehmenspreis für Entwicklung wird alle zwei Jahre vergeben. Die Preisverleihungen 2017 und 2019 fanden im Rahmen des von der Subsahara Afrika Initiative der deutschen Wirtschaft organisierten German African Business Summit in Nairobi (Kenia) bzw. Accra (Ghana) statt. Seit 2015 bringt dieser deutsche und afrikanische Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger aus Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Politik zusammen. Zeit und Ort der Preisverleihung 2021 werden noch bekannt gegeben.